top of page

Gold Circle Awards for Individual Students 

Presented by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, Gold Circle Awards are offered to recognize superior work by student journalists usually as individuals but sometimes as an entire staff working with either print or online media. Click on the highlighted titles below to visit the work

2020             Nia Paz:                           1st Place Essay  "Portraits"

                      Julie Fontes:                    1st Place Single Illustration "Silver Moonlight"

                      Jalynn McDuffey:            2nd Place Portfolio Illustration

                      Elisa Taylhardat:             CM Cover Design "A World Flipped Upside Down"

2019             Nicole Marino:               1st Place Interview  "Looming Peril"

                      Sophia Lord:                   CM "A Collection of Women" typography

                      Michelle Huang:             CM "In the Space Between"   typography                   

2018             Daniela Hernandez-Gil:   1st place open free form poetry   “#me-too"

2017             Ericka Cantin:                 1st place   single illustration hand drawn   “Nick


2016             Nicole Garcia:                 1st place   non-fiction column   “Fabula Rasa 

                      Karla Infante:                 1st place photography    “Where is the Light     

                      Patrick Martin:               3rd place   Cover Design

                      Itara Moore:                   CM  “The Atheist"      Open free-form poetry

2015             Amy Meltzer:                  1st placeSchrodinger’s University"  poetry

                      Brian Ransom:               1st place   “Playing the Hand"  non-fiction interview 

                      Sancia Noriega:              2nd place “Picking Scabs,” Essays
                      Pulastya Bagga:              3rd place  “Fictional Friend,"  Essays

                      Amy Meltzer:                   CM   “Without You I Write Candy-Coated Haikus,” humor 

2014             Nathalie Francis

                      Jake Pivnik:                      1st place   cover design

                      Aneres Williams:            1st placeMistake,” essay

                      Valentina Misas:             2nd place “The Composer,”   Traditional Fiction

                      Anyssa Chebbi:              3rd place  “Stay Golden"    Humor 
                       Josie Lo Bello:                CM  “Theodore,”  Traditional Fiction

2013              Yinimi Galego:                CM “Stay"   Single Illustration Hand-Drawn

                       Jurissa Tellez:                  CM  Portfolio Illustration  "All the Ifs",  "Golden Girl", "Red", "Sketchbook"

2012             Carolina Beguiristain:    2nd place  "Boy Problems,"   Cartoon                         

                      Hannah Pustejovsky:     CM   "The love of my life," Non-Fiction Interview

                      Rebecca Raskin               CM   "White Blank Page"   Traditional Fiction 


2009              Noel Kassewitz:              1st place    “Bestial Ramifications"    illustration black and white                                        Tatiana Jackson:              2nd Place  "Lait"   Single illustration not based on photography

                      Raquel Kidd:                    2nd place Portfolio  “Pyre of Knowledge; Violinist; Some Lucky Kid;

                                                                                                     "Try it You  Might Like It,”   

                      Andrea Espinosa:          3rd place  “Sourtongue,”   Cartoon 

                      Audrey Gonzalez:          CM    Portfolio “Blinded", On the Back of My Mind, Choke, Vegetables,” 

                      Raye Ng:                         CM   “Survive,"   Photograph


2007             Carmen Guillen Casal:   2nd Place   “Old Age,”  Illustration

                      Alina Balaguero:             2nd Place    Portfolio "Hacking Into the Main Frame"

                                                                                     "Major David Rozelle" "Amish School Shooting

                      Alina Balaguero :            2nd Place  "This is a Disjointed Spy Story,”  Cartoon

                      Mariohn Michel:             CM   “The History of History,”  open free-form poetry 

2006             Martine Powers:             1st Place  “Never Again,”   Free Form Poetry

                      Allyson Jones:                 1st Place  “These Hands,”  Single Photograph that complements copy 

                      Alina Balaguero:             1st Place  “Bees Whacks"   Cartoon

                      Adrianna Arintok:           2nd Place  “Pocket Troll,” Single Illustration that complements copy

                      Carmen Guillen-Casal:   3rd Place   “Peggy Sue Faces Oblivion,” single illustration that 

                                                                                      complements copy

                      Gretta Martinez,:              CM  “Red Balloon,”  Single illustration rendering photographic material

2005            Nick Kallergis:                   3rd place  “Culture,”  Single Photograph that complements copy

                     Christina Jay :                    CM  " The Leslie II,”  Single illustration



bottom of page